Early Book Review: Red's Planet by Eddie Pittman

Red's Planet is the first graphic novel in a new series by Eddie Pittman, which is currently scheduled for release on April 19 2016. For fans of Phineas and Ferb, you might recognize some of the style or humor because the author is a writer/story artist on the show.

Meet Red, a quirky, headstrong 10-year-old who longs to live in her own perfect paradise far away from her annoying foster family. But when a UFO mistakenly kidnaps her, Red finds herself farther away than she could have possibly imagined—across the galaxy and aboard an enormous spaceship owned by the Aquilari, an ancient creature with a taste for rare and unusual treasures. Before Red can be discovered as a stowaway, the great ship crashes on a small deserted planet, leaving her marooned with a menagerie of misfit aliens. With her newfound friend, a small gray alien named Tawee, Red must find a way to survive the hostile castaways, evade the ravenous wildlife, and contend with Goose, the planet's grumpy, felinoid custodian. Surely this can't be the paradise she's been hoping for.

Red's Planet is a graphic novel of galactic proportions. Okay, so I just wanted to use that phrase, but it is very good. I enjoyed the artwork very much, it captured the emotions and action of each scene as well as just being very interesting to look at. I also like the characterization of Red, who I could sympathize with in her hatred of the lazy nickname that everyone (even aliens) instantly call her. Her growth, and the way she offers a well seasoned but still innocent look at the larger world around her really appealed to me. I liked that combination of weary to trust and headlong action. The commentary on how people (or aliens) react to those different from themselves even when they face the same troubles is eerily accurate and timely. I think Goose and Red are two great characters, with great dynamics. The larger storyline that is revealed has me interested and eager to see where future issues take readers.


Red's Planet is a graphic novel with great artwork and a coming of age tale as well as some social commentary that is bundled together in an entertaining story that will engage a large variety of readers. 
Post a Comment